

September 19, 2018

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman Energy and Water Subcommittee Senate Appropriations Committee United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman Energy and Water Subcommittee House Appropriations Committee United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member Energy and Water Subcommittee Senate Appropriations Committee United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur Ranking Member Energy and Water Subcommittee House Appropriations Committee United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Alexander, Ranking Member Feinstein, Chairman Simpson and Ranking Member Kaptur:

The Task Force on American Innovation (TFAI)—an alliance of industry, scientific societies, and university organizations—commends you and your colleagues for the successful completion of the fiscal year 2019 (FY19) Energy and Water Development Appropriations Act. TFAI is encouraged by the strong funding levels for the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science and the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E). On behalf of American industry and American higher education, we are grateful for your leadership on this key issue.

TFAI strongly supports the funding level of \$6.585 billion for DOE Office of Science, a 5 percent increase from FY18. We also applaud the funding level of \$366 million for ARPA-E, a 4 percent increase. Your commitment to increased research and development (R&D) investments supports U.S. leadership in innovation, improves U.S. global competitiveness and strengthens the U.S. economy and workforce.

Thank you for your bipartisan work on this important investment. We look forward to continuing to work with you in the future, and we sincerely appreciate your strong leadership.

Sincerely,

Task Force on American Innovation



Task Force on American Innovation Securing the future through research in the physical sciences and engineering

Steering Committee

Semiconductor Industry Association (Co-Chair) American Chemical Society

IBM (Co-Chair) American Association for the Advancement of Science American Mathematical Society Applied Materials, Inc. ASME Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

Computing Research Association

Google

IEEE-USA

National Association of Manufacturers SPIE The Science Coalition

Aerospace Industries Association American Astronomical Society American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering American Society for Engineering Education Association for Women in Science Autodesk **Business Roundtable Council for Chemical Research Council of Scientific Society Presidents** Crav Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology Infineon Technologies Materials Research Society National Center for Manufacturing Sciences National Inventors Hall of Fame Research!America Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Southeastern Universities Research Association **Technology CEO Council**

American Statistical Association American Physical Society Association of American Universities Battelle Geological Society of America Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company **Intel Corporation** The Procter & Gamble Company **Texas Instruments**

Alliance for Science and Technology Research in America American Geophysical Union

American Institute of Physics

Association for Computing Machinery Association of University Research Parks Babcock & Wilcox CompTIA **Council of Graduate Schools Council on Competitiveness Dow Chemical Company** Industrial Research Institute Information Technology Industry Council Microsoft National Center for Women and Information Technology Qualcomm Semiconductor Research Corporation Society of Women Engineers TechNet **Telecommunications Industry Association**